JDR Vol.1 No.3 pp. 341-356
doi: 10.20965/jdr.2006.p0341


Seismic Design Codes for Buildings in Japan

Hiroshi Kuramoto

Department of Architecture and Civil Engineering, Toyohashi, University of Technology, 1-1 Hibarigaoka, Tempaku, Toyohashi, Aichi 441-8580, Japan

August 18, 2006
September 27, 2006
December 1, 2006
the Building Standard Law of Japan, seismic design code, two-phase earthquake design, performance based earthquake design
Two revised seismic design codes in the Building Standard Law of Japan, which were revised in 1981 and 2000, are simply reviewed with the transition of Japanese seismic design code in this paper. The central feature of the seismic code revised in 1981 was the introduction of a two-phase earthquake design. Allowable stress design was employed for first-phase earthquake design targeting the safety and serviceability of buildings during medium-level earthquake activity. Second-phase earthquake design, which is ultimate strength design, was added to provide safety against severe earthquake motion. On the other hand, the seismic code revised in 2000 precisely defines performance requirements and verification based on accurate earthquake response and limit states of a building. The capacity spectrummethod is used for evaluating the earthquake response. The code is applicable to any type of material and buildings such as seismic isolation systems as long as material properties are well defined and structural behavior is appropriately estimated.
Cite this article as:
H. Kuramoto, “Seismic Design Codes for Buildings in Japan,” J. Disaster Res., Vol.1 No.3, pp. 341-356, 2006.
Data files:

*This site is desgined based on HTML5 and CSS3 for modern browsers, e.g. Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Edge, Opera.

Last updated on Jul. 12, 2024